Insanity of Motherhood

Motherhood, marriage, and midlife.

I’m Not Ready

6 Comments

 

A conversation between a mother, a father and a teenage boy.

Mother walks into house.  Mother puts down purse and computer.  Mother greets family.

Hi everyone.  How is it going?” – Mother

“Good.  How was your day?” – Father

“The usual…brutal.” – Mother (smirks)

Mother looks over at boy on the couch.

Hey buddy.  How are things in the land of high school?” – Mother

“Fine.  Not sure if I like the new Spanish teacher, but other that it’s pretty good.”- Teenage Boy

“How are the girls in high school?  How’s the love life going?” – Mother

“Good actually.” – Teenage Boy

“What?  What do you mean “good actually”? – Mother

I mean good.” – Teenage Boy

“Good meaning you like someone or someone likes you?” – Mother

“Both.” – Teenage Boy

“Care to provide a bit more information, Sherlock?” – Mother

“No.  My private life is private.” – Teenage Boy

“Since when?  Do you have classes with her?  Is she smart?  Is she nice?  What does she look like?” – Mother

“See.  This is why I didn’t want you to know.  You’re going to ask tons of questions.” – Teenage Boy

“No, I won’t.  Just a few questions.  I have a right to know about the girl trying to snag my son.” – Mother

“Geez.  Okay.  She’s in my class.  She told some mutual friends she likes me.  I went up to her and started talking to her.  Now we both like each other.  She is cute, really smart and nice.  End of story.” –  Teenage Boy

“End of story?  What does that mean?  Come on just a few more details.  What’s her name?  Does she have any siblings?  How old is she?  Did she go to your middle school?  Where does she live?  You know you can’t date until you are 17 right?  Only group dates for now.  Have you held her hand?  What does it mean when you both say you “like” each other?  How does this liking each other thing work?” – Mother

“I’m leaving.  This conversation is over.” – Teenage Boy

Teenage boy walks away from mother.

Wait.  Come back.  I want to know what’s going on.  I have rights…” – Mother

“Sweetie, let it go.  Let him go.” – Father

“But…” – Mother

“It’s happening.  There’s nothing we can do about it.  It’s part of life.  You went through it and so did I.” – Father

“I’m…I’m…I’m not ready for a relationship.  Just yesterday I was pushing him a stroller at the zoo.  Now he has a liking thing with a girl.  Sigh.” – Mother

“The stroller thing at the zoo was a while ago.  Besides at least he didn’t mention they were having sex yet.” – Father

“Ahhh.   Don’t say that.” – Mother

Author: insanityofmotherhood

Mom of three boys, wife, educator, and all around nice gal in the middle of a midlife something. It's not a crisis, but it's something…

6 thoughts on “I’m Not Ready

  1. *shivers* that is what I have to look forward to and I will ask questions just as you did.

  2. Oh I love this conversation! And I can so understand that you’re not ready! Argh, they grow too quickly! And we need to grow with them – it’s the hardest part, because it implies that we need to let them go….

  3. Oh…I am dreading this moment too…

Leave a comment