Insanity of Motherhood

Motherhood, marriage, and midlife.

Hmm…

8 Comments

Hmm…where to begin.  It’s been quite a while since I’ve written a blog post.  A few months ago when I was asked to renew my blog subscription, I questioned if I wanted to continue.  As I debated in my mind, I realized I did have more things to share and maybe another year of blogging would be a good thing.

Since I began my blog five years ago a lot has happened.  Creating the blog initially was an outlet for me to express my thoughts and feelings regarding midlife, motherhood and my transition from full-time home parent back to the workforce.  Well, I’m happy to say I made it through my “midlife something”, and am now fully immersed in my career.

For the last few years I have gone back to school to update my education, and have worked various jobs to update for resume and job related skills.  My plan worked, as I recently accepted a position that fully utilizes all the information I’ve learned, and has an unexpected bonus.  The job is located overseas in Italy.  It’s hard to believe, but my family and I will be moving over to Italy by the end of the year.

When I think back to where I was five years ago, I realize there were many things I needed to learn before accepting my current employment.  Originally, my blog was created as a result of not getting a job.  After not being selected, I knew I had work to do.  So I got busy. I went to school, started working, and began the process of getting up to speed in my career field.  It wasn’t easy. As a matter of fact, the last few years have been the most challenging times I have ever endured career-wise.  I’ve made many mistakes, but I’ve also taken some amazing risks. I’ve gone out of my comfort zone so many times that I no longer fear things I’ve never done before.  So much so, that I took a chance to apply for jobs that were only dreams for me.

What lies ahead for me is more challenges, but not the fear and doubt I once had.  Years ago I searched for my purpose, my meaning, my contribution to the world outside of being a wife and mother.  It took a while, but I found it.  I hope to use all my life experience to make a difference in children’s lives.

As I embark on an exciting adventure to Italy to live and work, I want to be able to share my experience.  I thought about changing the name of my blog several times to reflect the new direction of my life.  I still may do that in the future.  However, for now my three boys are home for the summer…eating, making messes, and lying around the house making me crazy.  My blog name seems the best fit my life right now.

Arrivederci, my friends.

 

 

Author: insanityofmotherhood

Mom of three boys, wife, educator, and all around nice gal in the middle of a midlife something. It's not a crisis, but it's something…

8 thoughts on “Hmm…

  1. Courageous and awesome

  2. God Speed, Nancy.
    I hope your adventures in Italy are wonderful.
    I have been studying the Reggio Emilia school programs as I start a new job as pre-school art teacher this August.
    The Italian way is so laid back. Tomorrow tomorrow.
    I hope it is calming and helps with clarity for you and your whole family.
    Plus the food is amazing!
    Enjoy every minute.
    Amy

    • Thanks, Amy. Reggio Emilla is a wonderful early childhood education philosophy. You will be a natural fit for the program. Congratulations on your new job. They are lucky to have someone with your talents. 🙂

  3. Wow!! You go girl! Impressive

  4. How exciting! I’ve missed your stories about your boys. I think the blog title fits – motherhood (and fatherhood) is on the edge of insanity. Have a wonderful week. Peace and I look forward to reading about your travels.

Leave a Reply

